Suriname Facts
    Suriname facts
    Name Republic of Suriname
    Capital Paramaribo
    Largest city Paramaribo
    Population 559,000
    Currency Surinamese dollar

    Suriname fun facts

    How did Suriname get its name
    The name Suriname was derived from a Taino (Arawak-speaking) indigenous people called Surinen, who inhabited the area hundreds of years before the arrival of European colonists.

    Suriname facts
    What is Suriname's former name?
    In 1650, Lord Willoughby, the governor of Barbados, sent a small colonizing party to Suriname, which established 'Willoughbyland' consisted of around 30,000 acres and Fort Willoughby (now called 'Paramaribo'). When the territory was taken over by the Dutch, it became part of a group of colonies known as Dutch Guiana. It became the independent Republic of Suriname on November 25, 1975.

    Suriname fun facts

    Smallest country
    By area, Suriname is the smallest country in the South American continent

    Suriname facts

    Tropical rainforest
    About 80% of the land surface of Suriname is covered by tropical rainforests

Suriname flag

Suriname Flag
    Suriname fun facts
    Justice – Piety – Fidelity
    The coat of arms of Suriname was adopted on November 25, 1975. The motto reads Justitia – Pietas – Fides (“Justice – Piety – Fidelity”). It further consists of two natives who carry a shield. The left half of the shield symbolizes the past, as slaves were abducted via ship out of Africa. The right half, the side of the present, shows a Royal palm, also the symbol of a just person ("The just person should blossom like a palm"). The diamond in the middle is the stylized form of the heart, which is regarded as the organ of love. The points of the diamond show the four directions of the wind. Inside the diamond is a five-pointed star. This star symbolizes the five continents from which the inhabitants of Suriname migrated: Africa, America, Australia, Asia, and Europe.
    Suriname facts

    Only Dutch-speaking country in SA
    Dutch is the only official language of Suriname. Over 60% of the population speaks Dutch as a mother tongue. It is the only Dutch-speaking country in South America as well as the only independent nation in the Americas where Dutch is spoken by a majority of the population.

Suriname currency: Surinamese dollar (SRD)